My Sistas, My Sistas

So I run regularly on a running trail in FL. After a while you start to see the regular runners or cyclers out there. Whenever I run I make sure to acknowledge people when we pass each other. I think it’s one of those unwritten runner’s rules. So every morning when I run I nod my head, smile or say good morning depending on how much energy I have. However, there is something someone….saddening that I’ve noticed. I gets no love from fellow black FEMALE runners or cyclists.

Not a fleeting glance, no half smile, nothing. Nada. Zip. Zilch. And it happened 4 different times on my run this morning!! What the heck! Now I’ve blogged about this previously about when I got to running expos and see other black female runners or black runners in general we acknowledge each other. And I don’t mean an all out ‘Hey gurl!!!!!’ greeting. But a warm smile or a ‘hello, how are you.’ It’s just the polite thing to do. These ladies I saw today, did not get the memo. And I must say that I was quite angry when they all blew me off.

So basically I end this rant to say that I will continue to acknowledge my fellow runners. I hope you do the same.

One thought on “My Sistas, My Sistas

Leave a Reply

