Fitness Buddies=Accountability

When I first began grad school, one of the main tips that I heard was to make sure I took care of myself. Physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually. Many even specifically stressed taking care of yourself physically and avoiding unhealthy habits and weight gain that many grad students encounter. Well taking care of myself physically proved to be an easy task. For one I was already physically active. And two, the relationship I was in ended a week before classes started. Needless to say, I began to run even more to cope with my feelings and clear my head and decided to register for my first marathon. One year later and I’m currently training for a couple halfs, another marathon, and have started cycling and swimming. Although I always wonder if I even look like a runner or an athlete, my cohort has dubbed me the Athletics Director. 🙂

A couple of weeks ago I received a text from a classmate asking if I could provide her with any tips to share because she wanted to get back into shape and lose a few pounds. She said she had read numerous articles online as well. My first thought was one of flattery. My next thought was nervousness. Was I even qualified to give someone else tips on fitness? Was I where I wanted/needed to be physically? After asking her questions about what type of activities she wanted to do. She told me that she didn’t like working out, but liked the results and then told me some activities she’d consider. I appreciated her honesty because there are many times when I don’t want to go to the gym but I always feel better afterwards. She then also stated that her hardest part is sticking with a workout because she doesn’t see immediate results. I think that statement rings true for most people. They don’t see the physical changes fast enough and so they assume  their workouts aren’t working. I told her to stay away from the scale and to instead using pictures or take body measurements to measure changes. I also told her that I’d put together a schedule with all of the classes located at our gym.

So here I am now compiling a list to send out. I’m very happy because before I would just run and workout by myself. Sure I was disciplined for the most part, but having a buddy to workout with means an extra layer of accountability. Hopefully we’ll be able to push each other when we each have our days where we are lacking motivation.

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

